Changing my Words, Changing my Life

This month I had a goal of 930 minutes of activity for the month. I have met and exceeded this goal. I have done 1060 minutes of exercise this month. I am on my way to a 5K! 

 

 
So, as you know, I have one coming in November. The other one I want to do is at Disneyland in California in May 2015. I live in Maryland. I really want to do it! My friend posted a picture the other day talking about changing your language will change your life. So, as I was thinking about this 5K across the country, the first thing that came to mind was, “I can’t afford to do this.” First of all, it is $70 to register. We would need a hotel for at least one night, plus airfare. All of this times two. Well, I REALLY want to do this. How can I afford it? So, my friend’s quote came to mind. “Change your words, change your life. How can I afford this?” Well, I remembered I have enough airline miles to buy two tickets to fly to California. I found a hotel that is 75% less than staying right on Disney property and it is across the street from the main gate of Disneyland. My father lives in California, so the other days, we can stay with him. I just figured out how I can afford to do this. Registration opens on 8/12 for this. I’m so super psyched! Now I just have to figure out how I can get my pace and endurance up. I printed out a 0 to 5K plan in 6 weeks yesterday to help. It is going to mean working out (including walking) 5-6 days per week. I have NEVER been that committed to anything, but I am committed to this. 
 
I am currently at a 25 minute mile. For my first walk, there are no pace requirements. For the Disneyland walk, I have to be at a minimum of 16 mile/minute. I know I can get there. I am determined. My first goal is to walk the Color Run in November at a pace of 20 min/mile. Concurrently, I am working on endurance as well. I walked .76 miles yesterday and I was spent. My calves hurt and I was dying. I was in my head thinking-you can’t even walk a mile, how are you going to walk a 5K??? (3.1 miles for those that are unfamiliar.) My spirit was defeated for a minute, then I remembered the long term goal of Disneyland and I got rid of my stinkin’ thinkin’! I’m pumped and I’m ready!!
 
Remember, for today, change your words and change your life!

3 thoughts on “Changing my Words, Changing my Life

  1. obesetwentysomething

    You’ve done so well! Very inspiring. I’m not sure what activity points are but they sound like something I should have.

    Reply

Leave a comment